Django Unchained (“My Blog’s First Movie Review”)

2 Jan

Image

Synopsis: “With the help of his mentor, a slave-turned-bounty hunter sets out to rescue his wife from a brutal Mississippi plantation owner.” (Rated R; 2 hours 45 minutes)

To start off my first movie of 2013, I decided to exit my comfort zone a bit, and create a simple little blog where I can write anything from a quick comment to a full movie review about EVERY MOVIE I SEE – in theaters at least…let’s hope this doesn’t look terrible!

Kicking off 2013 (and to help Adi and I relax a bit after dealing with insurance companies and doctors all day), we went to see Quentin Tarantino’s latest, and boy was it a fun (almost) 3 hours!

Obvious disclaimer: You will not like this movie if you don’t like his other movies. If you hated Inglorious Basterds, thought it was too violent, or heaven forbid – too unrealistic – then you won’t like this one any more than that. If like the rest of us you thought Inglorious Basterds was an awesome revenge fantasy where the Jews got to get their Tarantino-esque rocks off killing Nazis, then this movie does for black people what that did for Jews. Jamie Foxx does a great job in the Clint Eastwood type silent badass cowboy character, and Chistoph Waltz was fantastic spinning Tarantino’s amusing and clever dialogue.

The movie was entertaining from start to finish, fun amounts of blood for an action junkie like myself, kind of like with Kill Bill.

And Samuel L Jackson was hilarious as the ultimate “Uncle Tom”, so many great characters, and the music as always is essential to the mood of the movie…absolutely recommend it.

It was as great as Inglorious Basterds, maybe better, and less good than…The Help

Quality Rating: A+

Boaz Rating: A+ (Probably my favorite movie released in 2012)

16 Responses to “Django Unchained (“My Blog’s First Movie Review”)”

  1. beecabee January 3, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    Will definitely try and catch this in the theater. Fun blog!

    Like

    • boazconstrictor January 6, 2013 at 6:20 pm #

      Thanks, you’ll disagree with many of my reviews, but hopefully not for this awesome movie!

      Like

  2. Linda Hepner January 4, 2013 at 5:27 am #

    Welcome to the inglorious world of writers, Boaz! Enjoyed this first of your reviews.

    Like

    • boazconstrictor January 6, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

      Thank you to my mother’s glowing (totally unbiased) feedback 🙂

      Like

  3. The Chuck January 4, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    I agree. I loved every minute of Django. Being a huge fan of old and new Westerns, I did find some of the action seququences a little over the top for this kind of movie. But being a Tarantino fan, I kind of expected it. If you haven’t seen a film called The Proposition with Guy Pearce, I suggest you check it out.

    Like

    • boazconstrictor January 6, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

      Thank you, absolutely was over-the-top, but as you said, that’s to be expected with Tarantino, and it only added to the fun uniqueness of the experience!
      Seen The Proposition, interesting Aussie cowboy film!

      Like

  4. Shlomo Abraham January 7, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Saw it. It was good, but not as good as his other films. I say 9. 10 means perfect. Was Django a perfect movie? Hell no. 30 minutes too long, and (compared to Basterds) Jamie Foxx isn’t Brad Pitt.

    Like

    • Shlomo Abraham January 7, 2013 at 9:36 am #

      By the way, I love that I can come on here and tell you how wrong you are. Thanks for that.

      Like

      • boazconstrictor January 7, 2013 at 9:58 am #

        You’re certainly welcome to disagree with me and give it a 9/10 instead of 10/10. 🙂
        And although I agree no single person was as awesome as Brad Pitt was in Basterds, I thought the movie itself was even better, and not 30 minutes too long as you say. 🙂

        Like

    • Josh January 7, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

      Shlomo, I agree, Basterds was better in pretty much every way. Django felt like almost a truly great movie- it needed editing, both in terms of minutes and also conceptually. But still a great movie.

      Like

      • boazconstrictor January 7, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

        It’s not as if I didn’t LOVE Basterds, it’d probably get the same 10/10 rating from me. I just think it was slightly long-winded at moments, but still amazing, whereas this movie flew by in the best of ways in an almost unflawed way from start to finish. I disagree that it needed editing, but to each his own.

        Like

  5. sarah.a. design. (@SarahLikesGreen) January 7, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    enjoyed it even though it was a bit too long (although previews were close to half an hour which was annoying). nothing like gratuitous spraying of blood to enhance the story

    Like

  6. Jon Mac (@JonMacWriter) January 7, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

    I thought Django was awesome. Surprisingly it didn’t seem long at all to me (and I’m not fond of overly long movies.) “The D is silent, hillbilly.” ha, I love that line.

    Like

    • boazconstrictor January 7, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

      Agreed, it could have kept going and I wouldn’t have minded one bit!

      Like

Leave a Reply

