A Haunted House (“Not To Be Confused With Scary Movie 5”)

29 Jan

Image

Synopsis: “Malcolm and Kisha move into their dream home, but soon learn a demon also resides there. When Kisha becomes possessed, Malcolm – determined to keep his sex life on track – turns to a priest, a psychic, and a team of ghost-busters for help.” (Rated R; 1 hour 20 minutes)

I went into this horror movie parody with reeeeeally low expectations. I thought I’d be seeing absolute trash, and it would make the upcoming spoof Scary Movie 5 look like a masterpiece. Why?
1) It’s dumped in January, and if I haven’t made it clear in my other posts, January and September are generally the months that studios dump their movies that they think will suck.

2) It’s a spoof on one single horror movie, Paranormal Activity. It’s hard enough to come up with decent material to parody when you have entire genres to exploit, but doing it all on one movie I expected nothing good.

3) I didn’t even see a preview for this one (very rare for me considering how many movies I see), and was confused because I DID see a preview for Scary Movie 5 which ALSO spoofs Paranormal Activity, so I was very confused when this came out what the heck it was.

Well, I’m happy to report that this was actually an amusing little flick. I always claim that lowering your expectations with movies can only help you enjoy them later and this was no exception. There were moments throughout the movie that actually made me laugh out loud, with ridiculous, juvenile things on the screen, and both Jared and I were amused throughout.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s incredibly stupid, and the humor is lowbrow – so if you don’t like DUMB and DIRTY humor you’ll hate this – but if that’s not the case you can do a lot worse than a movie where the haunting, invisible ghost has sex with the occupants, and turns out to be a better lover than either of them. And one scene where they utilize the spooky oscillating camera-fan from Paranormal Activity that catches glimpses of things involving the maid…let’s just say that was some pretty damn funny stuff that I could see fitting in the Harold & Kumar movies or something. (By the way, the less-seen Very Harold & Kumar 3D Christmas? HILARIOUS!)

One last thing I’ll reference, there was a funnier and less creepy version of what Dane Cook did with a stuffed animal in Good Luck Chuck. If you get that reference, congratulations, you watch crappy movies too!

The movie was better than Spy Hard, a spoof that I still remember being VERY disappointed by considering it starred Leslie Nielsen. It was worse than Scary Movie, which missed the mark quite often but was so jam-packed with jokes and different movie parodies that it was still more fun to watch.

Quality Rating: C-

Boaz Rating: B (Not saying it was good, just saying it was decent fun for what it is)

3 Responses to “A Haunted House (“Not To Be Confused With Scary Movie 5”)”

  1. Mike Burgher January 30, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    Well, I have no desire to see this, but it’s always a joy reading your commentary. BTW, “crap movie season” runs through March/April (and as you mentioned September as well), with the exception of the re-released Oscar contenders. Amazingly, you and I have seen plenty of movies in this stretch in past years, namely: “I Think I Love My Wife”, “The Last Mimzy”, “Reno 911: Miami” (okay, we laughed through that one), “The Painted Veil”, “Gomorrah” (remember that really long and boring Italian film that was allegedly about the mafia, yet lacked any action whatsoever?), “Death Sentence” starring Kevin Bacon, “Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story”, “Sunshine Cleaning” (forgettable Amy Adams/Emily Blunt film), “The Heartbreak Kid” (I want my $7.50 back!), “Music and Lyrics” (although the one redeeming part of the movie was THIS 80s music video spoof: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVkU8dDSC9w), “21” (a fun Vegas/blackjack movie that barely resonates the true story it depicted), “The Bank Job” (whatever happened to this film? I thought it was pretty good, but it disappeared.), “Zodiac” (another good movie that just disappeared)…So what else?

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scary MoVie (“My God, They Make Movies This Bad?”) | Boaz's Movie Obsession - April 23, 2013

    […] name for a fun little Easter Egg.) Remember the OTHER horror movie spoof from earlier this year, A Haunted House? At the time I expected that to be awful and this to be the one worth waiting for; it […]

    Like

  2. Evil Dead (“When Horror Meets Funny”) | Boaz's Movie Obsession - June 26, 2013

    […] Horror Spoofs – This is the most obvious kind, as movies such as the Scary Movie franchise are anything but frightening. They take the scary ideas, and use humor so silly that even if there is gore it’s absolutely absurd. These flicks are not intended to scare, chill or make their audience jump, and their genre would more aptly be considered comedy – not horror. (Examples of this include a couple of movies I reviewed this year, such as Scary MoVie and the less awful A Haunted House.) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

