Movie 43

5 Feb

Image

Synopsis: “A series of interconnected short films follows a washed-up producer as he pitches hilarious and insane story lines featuring some of the biggest stars in Hollywood.” (Rated R; 1 hour 37 minutes)

Saturday Night Live isn’t as good as it used to be!” That’s something I’ve heard and said countless times since I was a kid in the 1980’s. Somehow we all have this nostalgic image that puts SNL on a pedestal, where whatever the cast used to be was so much better than it is now, and somehow the days with Chevy Chase were all amazing sketches but now the show is awful. Or the days with Dana Carvey were amazing but now it just disappoints. No matter what era we’re in people seem to enjoy watching the show but wishing it was “as good as it used to be”.
No matter what you have to say about SNL, you have to admit they cram a whole bunch of comedy sketches and fake commercials and digital shorts into a one-week period of writing and planning. It’s an impressive feat, and I actually think there are usually a few funny segments each episode.

How in God’s name does a major studio have a year or longer to write a movie, basically make it an Rated R version of SNL, and it ends up no better than a random average week of the show (or worse)?!

Going into the making of this movie there were:

  • 13 Directors
  • 9 Writers
  • 36 Actors who I personally could name (plus a few more I recognized)

And I’m not just talking about random awful actors and directors, I’m including Peter Farrelly as one of the directors (Dumb & Dumber, Shallow Hal etc.), Kate Winslet and Hugh Jackman as some of the actors…from the credits this should be the best movie of the year, or certainly the most fun. What happened???

Don’t get me wrong, the premises weren’t the problem. If I set up the ideas of each segment they may sound inane but in the hands of funny writing and comic timing (and acting) each one could have been hilarious: A guy goes on a first date and they start escalating truth or dare until it gets out of control? It’s ripe with possibilities. A girl gets her first period while at her boyfriend’s house with his entire family around? Could be cringe-worthy fun. A superhero speed-dating night in Gotham City? The comic book geek in me loves the idea.

But somehow each of these just took their joke and barely let it take off. I can basically tell you these setups for each separate sketch and you can start to imagine all of these funny and inappropriate scenarios, but then they never lived up to their potential.

You know what it was like? Have you ever been to a really weak improv show? You know how they ask the audience to yell out random and weird ideas for their next sketch, and someone yells out “2 guys catch a leprechaun, but the leprechaun is Gerard Butler”, and the audience laughs in eager anticipation for what the improv crew will come up with. And then that sketch comedy crew does their best, and comes up with a few cute lines, but mostly the audience is still smiling about that idea they came up with and realizing that the rest is kind of painful to watch, so you politely laugh and clap? Well at least with improv you give them credit for coming up with material all on the spot; this movie took those ideas and performed no better than a mediocre improv show, where it was all setup and random funny lines but mostly…fell flat.

How can I NOT bring up the classic 1977 comedy Kentucky Fried Movie, where the creators of Airplane! also created a bunch of Rated R sketches and made them into a movie; but in that case it was actually like creating a whole slew of FUNNY segments, which was all this movie had to do with their year in pre-production.

Were there any good parts? Jared and I both thought the segment where Liev Schreiber and Naomi Watts home-school their kid was pretty funny (taking it much, much, much too far). There was a twisted commercial that I could see being in SNL and I’d be amused. But all I can say is all setup and little payout makes Movie 43 a very dull show.

The movie was better than…tough call, but I’ll say it was as bad as Four Rooms, another comedy that gathers different directors making their own segments, where most were pretty lousy. It was much, much, MUCH worse than Kentucky Fried Movie, as I stated earlier.

Quality Rating: D (I don’t know if I should go any lower than this grade, because there were at least jokes and scenes scattered throughout that made me laugh)

Boaz Rating: C+ (Can’t say I was ever bored by it. Between the amusing setups, the thousands of actors to spot, and my fascination of watching this train wreck, I was certainly having a fun night watching this pile of garbage)

7 Responses to “Movie 43”

  1. movierob April 26, 2013 at 6:03 am #

    oh my god was this bad!!! I turned it off during the 3rd skit, but after having read your review and went back and finished it just to see some of the redeeming ones like the super hero speed dating and the truth or dare date. Kentucky Fried Movie was much better and Im quite disappointed (like u were) at the quality of crap from the quality of actors, directors and writers here. They really had the potential to make a great movie and it was terrible.

    I hate turning movies off in the middle, but this was so bad, I just couldn’t keep watching. Thanks for at least convincing me to keep watching.

    Like

    • boazconstrictor April 26, 2013 at 10:29 am #

      Oy, what a mess this was, and yes it was still better than Scary MoVie that I just reviewed. lol
      Did you like my favorite sketch, with Naomi Watts creepily home schooling her son?

      Like

      • movierob April 27, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

        I actually did see that one and it was funny. The one before it with kate winslet and hugh jackman was terrible as was the one after it with the “engagement”

        Any kid who has to endure that kinda home-schooling should run, not walk to therapy 🙂

        Like

  2. boazconstrictor April 27, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    Yep, and the Hugh Jackman one was inexplicably the OPENING of the movie. Much like with Scary MoVie that I just saw it’s like, who green lit that to open it, at least find a better scene to start it off on the right note. lol

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 21 & Over | Boaz's Movie Obsession - March 5, 2013

    […] movie was better than Movie 43, which I reviewed this year and was full of crass, raunchy humor but didn’t even attempt to […]

    Like

  2. Tyler Perry’s Temptation: Confessions Of A Marriage Counselor (“My Two Cents On Tyler Perry”) | Boaz's Movie Obsession - April 10, 2013

    […] seen are on just about the same level of quality. Sure, I could say it’s better than Movie 43 and worse than Zero Dark Thirty but that’s just pure randomness, and his movies should […]

    Like

  3. Scary MoVie (“My God, They Make Movies This Bad?”) | Boaz's Movie Obsession - April 23, 2013

    […] -Movie 43: I still enjoyed segments and wasn’t bored, it was just a train wreck of a comedy overall. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

